Why has it been so long since I saw feminist art that scared me and made me laugh?

Am I not going out enough? Or is it not happening out there? Are we not still angry, frustrated and funny? Tina Fey’s recent piece in the New Yorker about having 5 more years to be fuckable – which means she has to decide whether to have another child or be in as many movies as possible – counts.

But watching a recent arty production by Narcissister

An image from "Narcissister"

http://www.narcissister.com/

gave me pause. I realized, I was thirsty for the work. It’s been too long since I watched messy, disturbing, feminist performance art. Got to work on that.
By the way, if you’re in NYC, I highly recommend this show at the Abrons Art Center.

Leave a Reply

